Membership of the Medical Council and the General Election held in 2002

- 2.1 The Council comprises 24 medical practitioners and 4 lay members. The Director of Health is the ex-officio Registrar. Its composition is as follows:-
 - (a) 2 registered medical practitioners nominated respectively by:-
 - the Director of Health;
 - the University of Hong Kong;
 - the Chinese University of Hong Kong;
 - the Hospital Authority;
 - the Hong Kong Academy of Medicine;
 - (b) 7 registered medical practitioners nominated and elected by the Hong Kong Medical Association;
 - (c) 7 registered medical practitioners who are ordinarily resident in Hong Kong elected by all registered medical practitioners; and
 - (d) 4 lay members.
- 2.2 The membership of the Council (as at 31 December 2002) was as follows:-

Dr LEE Kin-hung, MBE (Chairman) Dr Margaret CHAN, JP (Registrar of Medical Practitioners) Professor CHAN Kai-ming, Cavor, OBE **Dr** CHAN Yee-shing Mrs CHENG CHO Chi-on, Mariana, JP Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel Professor CHUNG Sheung-chee, Sydney Dr David FANG, SBS, JP **Professor FOK Tai-fai** Dr HO Shiu-wei, William, JP Dr KO Wing-man, JP Mr Robert KWOK, IP Dr LAI Cham-fai Mr LAM Kan-ming, Mark Dr LAM Ping-yan, JP Dr LAW Chi-lim, Robert



Dr LEONG FUNG Ling-yee, Lilian, JPImage: Second Second

- 2.3 Dr CHOI Kin was re-elected and Professor CHAN Kai-ming, Cavor was elected to replace Professor CHOW Shew-ping as members of the Medical Council with effect from 24 January 2002. Dr CHAN Yee-shing was elected by the Hong Kong Medical Association to replace Dr WAI Heung-wah, Hayles as a member of the Medical Council with effect from 24 January 2002. On the nomination of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Professor Constantine METREWELI was appointed to replace Professor LAM Shun-chiu, Dennis as a member of the Medical Council with effect from 12 April 2002.
- 2.4 The seventh election of the Medical Council was conducted in October 2002 to fill three vacancies for a period of 3 years with effect from 24 January 2003. Since the number of validly nominated candidates was the same as the number of vacancies available (i.e. three vacancies), the following candidates were declared to be elected as members of the Medical Council:

Dr KWOK Ka-ki Professor LEONG Chi-yan, John, OBE, JP Dr TSE Hung-hing