## Membership of the Medical Council and the General Election held in 2003

- 2.1 The Council comprises 24 medical practitioners and 4 lay members. The Director of Health is the ex-officio Registrar. Its composition is as follows:-
  - (a) 2 registered medical practitioners nominated respectively by:-
    - the Director of Health;
    - the University of Hong Kong;
    - the Chinese University of Hong Kong;
    - the Hospital Authority;
    - the Hong Kong Academy of Medicine;
  - (b) 7 registered medical practitioners nominated and elected by the Hong Kong Medical Association;
  - (c) 7 registered medical practitioners who are ordinarily resident in Hong Kong elected by all registered medical practitioners; and
  - (d) 4 lay members.
- 2.2 The membership of the Council (as at 31 December 2003) was as follows:-

Professor Felice LIEH-MAK, CBE, JP (Chairman)

Dr LAM Ping-yan, JP (Registrar of Medical Practitioners)

Professor CHAN Kai-ming, Cavor, OBE, JP

Dr CHAN Yee-shing

Mrs CHENG CHO Chi-on, Mariana, BBS, JP

Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel

Dr CHOW Pak-chin

Professor CHUNG Sheung-chee, Sydney

Dr David FANG, SBS, JP

Professor FOK Tai-fai

Dr HO Shiu-wei, William, JP

Dr KO Wing-man, JP

Dr KWOK Ka-ki

Dr LAI Cham-fai

Mr LAM Kan-ming, Mark

Dr LAW Chi-lim, Robert

Professor LEONG Chi-yan, John, OBE, JP

Dr LEONG FUNG Ling-yee, Lilian, JP

Dr LEUNG Ting-hung, JP

Dr LI Siu-lung, Steven

Mrs LING LEE Ching-man, Eleanor, OBE, SBS, JP

## Membership of the Medical Council and the General Election held in 2003

Dr the Hon. LO Wing-lok, JP
Dr SHIH Tai-cho, Louis
Professor TANG Wai-king, Grace, JP
Dr TSE Hung-hing
Dr WONG Shou-pang, Alexander
Miss YAU Ho-chun, Nora, MH, JP
Dr YEUNG Chiu-fat, Henry

The Council's Legal Adviser is Mr Charles C.C. CHAN who replaced Ms M. A. CRABTREE with effect from 1 June 2003 and its Secretary is Mr Raymond CHIU.

- 2.3 Dr TSE Hung-hing was re-elected and Professor LEONG Chi-yan, John and Dr KWOK Ka-ki were elected to replace Professor LEUNG Ping-chung and Dr YUEN Chung-lau, Natalis as members of the Medical Council with effect from 24 January 2003. Dr LI Siu-lung, Steven was elected by the Hong Kong Medical Association to replace Dr LEE Kin-hung as a member of the Medical Council with effect from 24 January 2003. With the departure of Dr Margaret CHAN from the Government on 21 August 2003 to take up a senior post in the World Health Organization, Dr LAM Ping-yan and Dr LEUNG Ting-hung were appointed as members of the Medical Council in the capacity of the Director of Health and the Deputy Director of Health respectively. Professor FOK Tai-fai (who was an elected member) resigned from the Medical Council with effect from 1 October 2003 and on the nomination of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, was appointed as a member of the Medical Council to replace Professor Constantine METREWELL with effect from 1 October 2003. Dr CHOW Pak-chin was elected by the Council as a member of the Medical Council from 19 November 2003 to 23 January 2004 to fill the vacancy and serve the remaining term of Professor FOK Tai-fai. Mrs LING LEE Ching-man, Eleanor was appointed to replace Mr Robert KWOK as a lay member of the Medical Council with effect from 1 September 2003.
- The eighth election of the Medical Council was conducted on 12 December 2003 to fill two vacancies for a period of 3 years with effect from 24 January 2004. With the aid of computerized vote counting system, the election exercise was carried out smoothly. The following registered medical practitioners were declared elected with the highest number of votes:-
  - Dr YEUNG Chiu-fat, Henry
  - Professor WEI William Ignace