## Membership of the Medical Council and the General Election held in 2007

- 2.1 The Council comprises 24 medical practitioners and 4 lay members. The Director of Health is the ex-officio Registrar. The composition of the Council is as follows:-
  - (a) 2 registered medical practitioners nominated respectively by:-
    - the Director of Health;
    - the University of Hong Kong;
    - the Chinese University of Hong Kong;
    - the Hospital Authority;
    - the Hong Kong Academy of Medicine;
  - (b) 7 registered medical practitioners nominated and elected by the Hong Kong Medical Association;
  - (c) 7 registered medical practitioners who are ordinarily resident in Hong Kong elected by all registered medical practitioners; and
  - (d) 4 lay members.
- 2.2 The membership of the Council (as at 31 December 2007) was as follows:-

Professor Felice LIEH-MAK, CBE, JP (Chairman)

- Dr LAM Ping-yan, JP (Registrar of Medical Practitioners)
- Dr CHAN Yee-shing
- Dr CHENG Chi-man
- Dr CHEUNG Hon-ming
- Ms CHEUNG Jasminia Kristine
- Dr CHIU Shing-ping, James
- Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel
- Dr CHOW Pak-chin
- Dr CHU Leung-wing
- Dr David FANG, SBS, JP
- Professor FOK Tai-fai, JP
- Dr IP Pui-seung, Shirley
- Professor LAU Wan-yee, Joseph
- Professor LEONG Chi-yan, John, OBE, JP
- Dr LEONG FUNG Ling-yee, Lilian, JP
- Mrs LING LEE Ching-man, Eleanor, SBS, OBE, JP

Dr LIU Shao-haei Dr SHIH Tai-cho, Louis Professor SUNG Jao-yiu, SBS (from 24 January 2007 onwards) Mrs TAI POON Ching-sheung, Joyce, BBS, JP Dr TAM Lai-fan, Gloria, JP (from 16 July 2007 onwards) Professor TANG Wai-king, Grace, JP Dr TSE Hung-hing Miss WAN Lai-yau, Deborah, BBS, JP Dr WONG Shou-pang, Alexander Dr WONG TAAM Chi-woon, Vivian, JP Dr YEUNG Chiu-fat, Henry

The Council's Legal Adviser is Mr Charles C.C. CHAN and its Secretary is Mr AU Hing-yuen.

- 2.3 Dr YEUNG Chiu-fat, Henry was re-elected and Professor SUNG Jao-yiu was elected to succeed Prof. William Ignace WEI with effect from 24 January 2007. Dr CHOW Pak-chin and Dr WONG Shou-pang, Alexander were re-elected by the Hong Kong Medical Association with effect from 24 January 2007. Dr TAM Lai-fan, Gloria succeeded Dr LEUNG Ting-hung as Deputy Director of Health with effect from 16 July 2007.
- 2.4 The 12<sup>th</sup> election of the Council was conducted on 19 December 2007 to fill two vacancies for a period of 3 years with effect from 24 January 2008. With the aid of computerized system, the election exercise was carried out smoothly. The following registered medical practitioners were declared to be elected with the highest number of votes:-
  - Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel
  - Dr CHAN Yee-shing