Membership of the Medical Council and the General Election held in 2008





- **2.1** The Council comprises 24 medical practitioners and 4 lay members. The Director of Health is the ex-officio Registrar. The composition of the Council is as follows:-
 - (a) 2 registered medical practitioners nominated respectively by:-
 - the Director of Health;
 - the University of Hong Kong;
 - the Chinese University of Hong Kong;
 - the Hospital Authority;
 - the Hong Kong Academy of Medicine;
 - (b) 7 registered medical practitioners nominated and elected by the Hong Kong Medical Association;
 - (c) 7 registered medical practitioners who are ordinarily resident in Hong Kong elected by all registered medical practitioners; and
 - (d) 4 lay members.
- 2.2 The membership of the Council (as at 31 December 2008) was as follows:-

Professor Felice LIEH-MAK, CBE, JP (Chairman) Dr LAM Ping-yan, JP (Registrar of Medical Practitioners) Dr CHAN Yee-shing Dr CHENG Chi-man Dr CHEUNG Hon-ming Ms CHEUNG Jasminia Kristine Dr CHIU Shing-ping, James Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel Dr CHOW Pak-chin Dr David FANG, SBS, JP Professor FOK Tai-fai, JP Dr IP Pui-seung, Shirley Professor LAU Wan-yee, Joseph Professor LEONG Chi-yan, John, OBE, JP Dr LEONG FUNG Ling-yee, Lilian, BBS, JP Dr LEUNG Chi-chiu (from 24 January 2008 onwards) Mrs LING LEE Ching-man, Eleanor, SBS, OBE, JP

Membership of the Medical Council and the General Election held in 2008



Dr LIU Shao-haei Dr SHIH Tai-cho, Louis Professor SUNG Jao-yiu, SBS Mrs TAI POON Ching-sheung, Joyce, BBS, JP Dr TAM Lai-fan, Gloria, JP Professor TANG Wai-king, Grace, SBS, JP Dr TSE Hung-hing Miss WAN Lai-yau, Deborah, BBS, JP Dr WONG Shou-pang, Alexander Dr WONG TAAM Chi-woon, Vivian, JP Dr YEUNG Chiu-fat, Henry

The Council's Legal Adviser is Mr Charles C.C. CHAN and its Secretary is Mr AU Hing-yuen.

- 2.3 Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel was re-elected and Dr CHAN Yee-shing was elected to succeed Dr CHU Leung-wing with effect from 24 January 2008. Dr CHEUNG Hon-ming was re-elected and Dr LEUNG Chi-chiu was elected to replace Dr CHAN Yee-shing by the Hong Kong Medical Association with effect from 24 January 2008.
- 2.4 The 13th election of the Council was conducted on 17 December 2008 to fill three vacancies for a period of 3 years with effect from 24 January 2009. With the aid of computerized system, the election exercise was carried out smoothly. The following registered medical practitioners were declared to be elected with the highest number of votes:-
 - Dr TSE Hung-hing#
 - Dr SHIH Tai-cho, Louis
 - Dr SHEA Tat-ming
 - # At the Policy Meeting held on 2 July 2009, the Council passed a motion declaring the office of membership of Dr TSE Hung-hing vacant under section 3(6A)(f) of the Medical Registration Ordinance. As the unexpired period of the original term of office is not less than one year, a by-election would be conducted to fill the unexpired period of the vacant office (i.e. until 23 January 2012) in accordance with section 3(5B)(a) of the Medical Registration Ordinance.