## **2** Membership of the Medical Council and the General Election held in 2009

- 2.1 The Council comprises 24 medical practitioners and 4 lay members. The Director of Health is the ex-officio Registrar. The composition of the Council is as follows:-
  - (a) 2 registered medical practitioners nominated respectively by:-
    - the Director of Health;
    - the University of Hong Kong;
    - the Chinese University of Hong Kong;
    - the Hospital Authority;
    - the Hong Kong Academy of Medicine;
  - (b) 7 registered medical practitioners nominated and elected by the Hong Kong Medical Association;
  - (c) 7 registered medical practitioners who are ordinarily resident in Hong Kong elected by all registered medical practitioners; and
  - (d) 4 lay members.
- 2.2 The membership of the Council (as at 31 December 2009) was as follows:-

Professor Felice LIEH-MAK, CBE, JP (Chairman) Dr LAM Ping-yan, JP (Registrar of Medical Practitioners) Miss CHAN Ching-har, Eliza, BBS, JP (from 1 September 2009 onwards) Dr CHAN Yee-shing Dr CHENG Chi-man Dr CHEUNG Hon-ming Ms CHEUNG Jasminia Kristine Dr CHIU Shing-ping, James Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel Dr CHOW Pak-chin Professor FOK Tai-fai, SBS, JP Dr LAM Tzit-yuen, David (from 24 January 2009 onwards) Professor LAU Wan-yee, Joseph Dr LEUNG Chi-chiu Dr LEUNG Pak-yin, JP (from 24 January 2009 onwards) Dr Ll Kwok-tung, Donald, JP (from 24 January 2009 onwards) Professor LAM Lo-kuen, Cindy (from 24 January 2009 onwards)



Dr SHEA Tat-ming (from 24 January 2009 onwards) Dr SHIH Tai-cho, Louis, JP Professor SUNG Jao-yiu, SBS Mrs TAI POON Ching-sheung, Joyce, BBS, JP Dr TAM Lai-fan, Gloria, JP Professor TANG Wai-king, Grace, SBS, JP Dr TSE Hung-hing Miss WAN Lai-yau, Deborah, BBS, JP Dr WONG Shou-pang, Alexander Dr YAM Yin-chun, Loretta, BBS Dr YEUNG Chiu-fat, Henry

The Council's Legal Adviser is Mr Charles C.C. CHAN and its Secretary is Mr LEUNG Chor-fai, Tony.

- 2.3 Dr TSE Hung-hing and Dr SHIH Tai-cho, Louis were re-elected and Dr SHEA Tat-ming was elected to succeed Professor LEONG Chi-yan, John with effect from 24 January 2009. Dr CHENG Chi-man and Dr CHIU Shing-ping, James were re-elected and Dr LAM Tzit-yuen, David was elected to replace Dr IP Pui-seung, Shirley by the Hong Kong Medical Association with effect from 24 January 2009.
- 2.4 The 14th election of the Council was conducted on 16 December 2009 to fill two vacancies for a period of 3 years with effect from 24 January 2010. With the aid of computerized system, the election exercise was carried out smoothly. The following registered medical practitioners were declared to be elected with the highest number of votes:-
  - Professor SUNG Jao-yiu, SBS
  - Dr YEUNG Chiu-fat, Henry