2. Membership of the Medical Council and the General Election held in 2010

- 2.1 The Council comprises 24 medical practitioners and 4 lay members. The composition of the Council is as follows:-
 - (a) 2 registered medical practitioners nominated respectively by:-
 - Director of Health;
 - University of Hong Kong;
 - The Chinese University of Hong Kong;
 - Hospital Authority;
 - Hong Kong Academy of Medicine;
 - (b) 7 registered medical practitioners nominated and elected by the Hong Kong Medical Association;
 - (c) 7 registered medical practitioners who are ordinarily resident in Hong Kong elected by all registered medical practitioners; and
 - (d) 4 lay members.

The Director of Health is the ex-officio Registrar of Medical Practitioners.

2.2 The membership of the Council (as at 31 December 2010) was as follows:-

Professor Felice LIEH-MAK, CBE, JP (Chairman) Dr LAM Ping-yan, JP Miss CHAN Ching-har, Eliza, BBS, JP Dr CHAN Yee-shing Dr CHENG Chi-man Dr CHEUNG Hon-ming Ms CHEUNG Jasminia Kristine Dr CHIU Shing-ping, James Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel Dr CHOW Chun-kwan, John (from 24 January 2010 onwards) Dr CHOW Pak-chin Professor FOK Tai-fai, SBS, JP Dr LAM Tzit-yuen, David Professor LAU Wan-yee, Joseph Dr LEUNG Chi-chiu Dr LEUNG Pak-yin, JP Dr LI Kwok-tung, Donald, SBS, JP Professor LAM Lo-kuen, Cindy, JP

Dr LUK Che-chung (from 1 January 2010 onwards) Dr SHEA Tat-ming Dr SHIH Tai-cho, Louis, JP Professor SUNG Jao-yiu, SBS Mrs TAI POON Ching-sheung, Joyce, BBS, JP Dr TAM Lai-fan, Gloria, JP Professor TANG Wai-king, Grace, SBS, JP Dr TSE Hung-hing Miss WAN Lai-yau, Deborah, BBS, JP Dr YEUNG Chiu-fat, Henry

The Council's Legal Adviser is Mr Charles CC CHAN and its Secretary is Mr LEUNG Chor-fai, Tony.

- 2.3 Professor SUNG Jao-yiu, SBS and Dr YEUNG Chiu-fat, Henry were re-elected in the 14th election of the Council conducted on 16 December 2009 for a period of 3 years with effect from 24 January 2010. Dr CHOW Pak-chin was re-elected and Dr CHOW Chun-kwan, John was elected to replace Dr WONG Shou-pang, Alexander by the Hong Kong Medical Association, both for a period of 3 years with effect from 24 January 2010.
- 2.4 The 15th election of the Council was conducted on 15 December 2010 to fill two vacancies for a period of 3 years with effect from 24 January 2011. The election exercise was carried out smoothly. The following registered medical practitioners were declared to be elected with the highest number of votes:-
 - Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel (re-elected)
 - Dr HO Pak-leung (elected to replace Dr CHAN Yee-shing)