Membership of the Medical Council and the **General Election held in 2011**

- 2.1 The Council comprises 24 medical practitioners and 4 lay members. The composition of the Council is as follows:-
 - (a) 2 registered medical practitioners nominated respectively by:-
 - Director of Health;
 - University of Hong Kong;
 - The Chinese University of Hong Kong;
 - Hospital Authority;
 - Hong Kong Academy of Medicine;
 - 7 registered medical practitioners nominated and elected by the Hong Kong (b) Medical Association;
 - 7 registered medical practitioners who are ordinarily resident in Hong Kong elected by all registered medical practitioners; and
 - (d) 4 lay members.

The Director of Health is the ex-officio Registrar of Medical Practitioners.

2.2 The membership of the Council (as at 31 December 2011) was as follows:-

Professor Felice LIEH-MAK, GBS, CBE, JP (Chairman)

Dr LAM Ping-yan, SBS, JP

Miss CHAN Ching-har, Eliza, BBS, JP

Dr CHAN Yee-shing (from 13 May 2011 onwards)

Dr CHENG Chi-man

Dr CHEUNG Hon-ming

Ms CHEUNG Jasminia Kristine

Dr CHIU Shing-ping, James

Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel

Dr CHOW Chun-kwan, John

Dr CHOW Pak-chin, JP

Professor FOK Tai-fai, SBS, JP

Dr Ho Pak-leung (from 24 January 2011 onwards)

Professor LAM Lo-kuen, Cindy, JP

Dr LAM Tzit-yuen, David

Professor LAU Wan-yee, Joseph, SBS

Dr LEUNG Chi-chiu

Dr LI Kwok-tung, Donald, SBS, JP

2

Membership of the Medical Council and the General Election held in 2011

Dr LO Su-vui (from 1 January 2011 onwards)
Dr LUK Che-chung
Dr SHEA Tat-ming
Dr SHIH Tai-cho, Louis, JP
Mrs TAI POON Ching-sheung, Joyce, BBS, JP
Dr TAM Lai-fan, Gloria, JP

Professor TANG Wai-king, Grace, SBS, JP

Dr TSE Hung-hing

Miss WAN Lai-yau, Deborah, BBS, JP

Dr YEUNG Chiu-fat, Henry

The Council's Legal Adviser is Mr Charles CC CHAN and its Secretary is Mr LEUNG Chor-fai, Tony.

- 2.3 Dr CHOI Kin, Gabriel was re-elected and Dr HO Pak-leung was elected as members of the Council for a period of 3 years with effect from 24 January 2011 in the 15th election of the Council conducted on 15 December 2010. Dr CHAN Yee-shing was elected as a member of the Council for the period from 13 May 2011 to 23 January 2013 in a by-election of the Council conducted on 13 May 2011.
- 2.4 Dr CHEUNG Hon-ming and Dr LEUNG Chi-chiu were re-elected as members of the Council for a period of 3 years with effect from 24 January 2011 by the Hong Kong Medical Association.
- 2.5 The 16th election of the Council was conducted on 21 December 2011 to fill three vacancies for a period of 3 years with effect from 24 January 2012. The election exercise was carried out smoothly. The following registered medical practitioners were declared to be re-elected/ elected with the highest number of votes:-
 - Dr TSE Hung Hing
 - Dr CHENG Chi-man
 - Dr LI Chung-ki, Patrick, BBS, JP